Wednesday, 24 Jul 2024

The Greatest Players in Serie A History

Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Serie A, one of the oldest and most prestigious football leagues, has produced some of the greatest players in the history of the sport. This Italian league, known for its defensive prowess, has been home to legendary players who have not only shone on the field but also won numerous Serie A titles.

The Successful Players

Franco Baresi – AC Milan – 6 Titles

Franco Baresi

Franco Baresi, one of the greatest defenders of all time, spent his entire 20-year career at AC Milan. With his exceptional skills, he won six Serie A titles, starting from 1979 until his final title in 1996. Baresi’s calm and composed style of play made him a respected figure in Italian football.

Ciro Ferrara – Napoli & Juventus – 7 Titles

Ciro Ferrara

Ciro Ferrara, known for his intelligence and aggression, played for both Napoli and Juventus, winning seven Serie A titles in total. His ability to mark players out of the game, coupled with his versatility in different positions, made him a vital asset for his teams.

Alessandro Costacurta – AC Milan – 7 Titles

Alessandro Costacurta

Alessandro Costacurta, a complete defender, dedicated his entire career to AC Milan. With seven Serie A titles to his name, Costacurta showcased his extraordinary defending skills and became known for his incredible reflexes, awareness, and communication on the field.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  15 Best Premier League Right-Backs Of All Time

Andrea Barzagli – Juventus – 8 Titles

Andrea Barzagli

Andrea Barzagli’s journey to success wasn’t easy, as he played for smaller Italian clubs before joining Juventus. However, once he joined the Turin-based team, Barzagli’s career soared. He won eight consecutive Serie A titles with Juventus, establishing himself as one of the most successful players in Italian football history.

Leonardo Bonucci – Inter Milan & Juventus – 9 Titles

Leonardo Bonucci

Leonardo Bonucci, a journeyman player, played for several top Italian clubs, including Inter Milan and AC Milan. However, it was at Juventus where he achieved remarkable success, winning six consecutive Serie A titles. Regarded as one of the best defenders of all time, Bonucci’s comprehensive skills and overall contribution to the game are highly respected.

Giorgio Chiellini – Juventus – 9 Titles

Giorgio Chiellini

Giorgio Chiellini, an iconic defender, holds the record for winning nine Serie A titles in a row with Juventus. Known for his impeccable defensive abilities and contribution to offensive and defensive set-pieces, Chiellini is considered one of the best defenders in the history of football.

Gianluigi Buffon – Juventus – 10 Titles

Gianluigi Buffon

Gianluigi Buffon, the legendary goalkeeper, has a record-breaking ten Serie A titles to his name. Regarded as one of the greatest goalkeepers in the world, Buffon’s longevity and exceptional skills have made him an icon in Italian football history. From his first title with Juventus in 2002 to his last in 2020, Buffon has left an indelible mark on the sport.


Q: Are there any players who have won more than 10 Serie A titles?
A: No, Gianluigi Buffon holds the record for the most Serie A titles won by a player.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Virgil Van Dijk's Family: An Insider's Look into the Life of the Football Star

Q: Which club has won the most Serie A titles?
A: Juventus is the most successful club in Serie A history, having won numerous titles.

Q: Who is considered the greatest player in Serie A history?
A: It is difficult to pinpoint one player as the greatest in Serie A history, as many legendary players have left their mark on the league. However, players like Franco Baresi, Alessandro Del Piero, and Francesco Totti are often mentioned as some of the best.


Serie A has been graced by exceptional players throughout its history. The players mentioned in this article have not only won multiple Serie A titles but have also contributed to the growth and success of Italian football. Their skills, dedication, and passion for the game have made them true legends in Serie A’s rich sporting heritage.